“Books are boring …”

I really like Japan. Or, better – I really like the Japanese culture in general. But one of the things I love the most, are the plenty of words they have in their language with a beautiful meaning that we, as western people, don’t know. For example – つんどく (tsundoku), the noun for buying a lot of books, letting them pile up unread on the floor, shelf and everywhere you could imagine, and never actually read them.

That’s one of my favourite words in Japanese, and I think it’s because it pretty much sums me up. I always am buying new books (if I actually have some money left) and I start reading them … But I don’t finish them at all.

But, why? Well, not because they’re boring (honestly, if you say that to me, our friendship will be over) or lame – I rarely buy bad books as I am very picky and look into the book when I am in the store before I decide me for one – but because I don’t want the story to end. I easily get attached to the characters and the way too exciting life stories they have, and it’s really hard for me to let all that go. The most of the books that are on my ‘currently reading’-list, have like only twenty pages left out of 400 because I just don’t want the fictional people to die.

That’s not only bad for my heart and the actual space I have on my bookshelf, but also for my wallet. The solution would be simple – going to a library and lend books for free instead of buying them – but here’s the problem: I highlight my favourite sentences in my books so I can find them easily when I’m going through them again, and I actually couldn’t do that with one that isn’t my own and that I have to return due 30 days.

That’s why I just go to the book-thriftshop we have in town (do they exist somewhere else, or is that a weird thing from the place I live?). Honestly, if you like books as much as I do, please look for a book-thriftshop in your environment. They’re often underrated and have really pretty books of all types in their best conditions – new to vintage to antique, it doesn’t matter, they have everything you could imagine – and they’re not even expensive.

They also have old vinyl records and stuff like that, and if you’re bored and don’t know what to do, that place is perfect for you.

And, if you start to go there frequently when you’re bored or after school, you’ll get to know very cute old ladies that work there and have conversations and new book recommendations! And maybe you’ll find the love of your life there while you’re rummaging through old dictionaries in Esperanto, on a rainy and cosy Saturday, just like in a cute movie book … Probably not, but you’ll never know.

Trust me. It’s the cutest thing in the world. Do it.

So, if I managed to want you to go to a cute vintage-secondhand bookstore, then you might look for these five (click on the name for the actual description of the book) …

twoton-dividing-line-3

Die Outsider, by Susan E. Hinton

427ec5d9434fa3752f67d3c114af452f

Yes, I tend to get on the nerves of others when I crush about this book. Yes, I read it as a school book in German (my teacher would deserve an award for bringing this book to my life), (or a compensation). Yes, I am totally in love with that stupid thing.

It broke my heart. Several times. But I love that thing so damn much. Look for it. Buy it. Read it. Spread it. Cry with me, please.

(picture: https://s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com/originals/42/7e/c5/427ec5d9434fa3752f67d3c114af452f.jpg)

 

 

 

Weiß wie Milch, rot wie Blut, by Alessandro D’Avenia

Weiss wie Milch rot wie Blut von Alessandro DAveniaRemember what I just told with beginning a book and really don’t wanting to end it? This one holds a record. I bought it when I was on a school trip in September, and one of my best friends (that might be an even bigger bookworm than me) bought it too so we could read it together and talk about it. Well, I freaking love how it’s written and I could not relate more to the protagonist, but I didn’t finish it yet. My friend blames me for that and I feel bad, but I just can’t. I highlighted one sentence in almost each sheet of that book (it’s amazing, I am not exaggerating), but I have exactly 20 pages left and I can’t let that book go.

(picture: https://www.randomhouse.de/content/edition/covervoila_hires/DAvenia_AWeiss_wie_Milch_104494.jpg)

 

Rumblefish, again, by Susan E. Hinton

51zttbovjgl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

This woman knows how to make you cry. I won’t spoiler you, you’ll have to read it. It’s amazing. But this one isn’t translated to German, so you’ll have to give yourself a bit of patience and time until you understand the southern American slang from the 1970’s.

(picture: https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/51ZttBovjGL._SX330_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg)

 

Die erste Liebe (nach 19 vergeblichen Versuchen), by John Green

71i9mohgf4lI’d understand you if you would say that you don’t want to read it (the title also made me cringe a little bit when I first saw it, but don’t blame the author, blame the translator who chose that terrible title for the German book), but if you want to read one of the best things I’ve ever read in my life, then you’ll have to do it. It’s funny, but also cheesy sometimes and a bit weird too – but the protagonist is such a lovely dork that it will pay the awkward things that happen off and you’ll be forced to love him. And his best friend too. And his adventure.

(picture: https://images-na.ssl-images-amazon.com/images/I/71I9MOhGf4L.jpg)

 

We all looked up, by Tommy Wallach

we-all-looked-up-9781481418782_hrI usually don’t like books that aren’t written from the perspective of the protagonist but from a third-persons-eye, but this one’s a big exception. I’m almost finished with it – the famous twenty pages, you already know – but I really like it as it changes the perception of one big happening (read the book, you’ll understand) where all four completely different students are in (and the rest of the world, actually). It makes change your mind, points out the main problems of our society, and I really, really like the author’s style of writing.

(picture: http://d28hgpri8am2if.cloudfront.net/book_images/onix/cvr9781481418782/we-all-looked-up-9781481418782_hr.jpg)

 

twoton-dividing-line-3

Leave a Reply

